Saturday, June 13, 2009

College World Series Fun Facts & Odds

The College World Series starts today at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, NE where it has been played since 1950.

The first winner of a Division I baseball title was Cal in 1947. Their Pac 10 brother, USC, leads all schools with 12 titles all time including five in a row from 1970-74. But the Trojans have not won since 1998.

The ACC has two teams in the CWS this year, but has not won a title since Wake Forest did in 1955. UNC finished second two years in a row to Oregon State in 2006 and 2007. The Tar Heels are making their 8th CWS appearance all time, but their 4th in a row. ACC neighbor Virginia is making their first appearance ever.


The SEC has a strong history in the CWS led by LSU who has 5 titles and ranks 9th in CWS wins with 30. The Tigers are making their 15th CWS appearance. The Arkansas Razorbacks enter their 6th CWS, but first since 2004, looking for their first CWS championship.


Number one overall seed Texas leads all teams with 33 appearances and is second to USC with 6 titles. ACC newcomer Miami is second with 23 appearances, but has not won the crown since 2001.

Arizona State is back in 2009 with their 21 appearance and looking to add to their five titles. Another 2009 participant, Cal State Fullerton, has won four national titles coming out of the Big West Conference. Southern Miss is making their first ever appearance. In fact, their Super Regional appearance was also their first ever.

The most appearances without a title? That "honor" goes to Florida State with 19. The Seminoles lost to Arkansas in the Super Regionals this season.

Updated: CWS Odds to Win
Just found these so I thought I would pass along.

Arizona State +350

Arkansas +1200
Cal State Fullerton +250
LSU +375
North Carolina +350
Southern Mississippi +1400
Texas +300
Virginia +400



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.